Food Plant


easily delicious lentil soup
February 23, 2008, 2:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

This soup is brought to you courtesy of Reut’s family. She couldn’t believe how easy it was when they gave her the recipe, and now that I’ve made it, I’m equally impressed with what you get for such a small number of ingredients. It’s also fat free! (I had to ruin that by drizzling some olive oil on top, but you don’t have to.) You could probably add all sorts of garnishes and extra ingredients, but the beauty is that it tastes quite a bit better than many complicated lentil soups just as it is.

You will need:

2 cups dry lentils ( i used 1 cup red and 1 cup brown; it originally calls for red)

5 – 6 cups water

8 – 9 cloves of garlic, sliced

1 teaspoon cumin, freshly ground

1 teaspoon coriander, freshly ground

2 teaspoons good quality salt

1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, freshly cracked

fresh lemon juice and good quality olive oil, to taste (my addition)

To prepare:

Wash the lentils well (I used a strainer) and transfer them to a medium sized pot. Add the 5 cups of water and bring to a boil. Once fully boiling, add the garlic, cumin and coriander, salt and pepper, reduce the heat to a gentle simmer and partially cover the pot. Cook the soup, stirring occasionally to prevent the bottom from burning, until the lentils are very soft. Red lentils will be done in 30 minutes, other kinds will take closer to an hour. Correct spices if necessary and add more water if you would like a thinner soup. Cook for another minute or two, then take off the heat. Serve immediately, with lemon juice and olive oil drizzled on top.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am tempted to say this is an ancient recipe from Damascus… but it probably isn’t. 🙂
i wonder about the addition of thin noodles in the end like my aunt said.. I dont remember tasting any when she makes it, but she insists she always does.
Anyway, glad you like it. 🙂

Comment by Reut

Yum!
I just finished a bowl full and it was delicious! It reminds me of dahl, so much so that I couldn’t help but add some chili powder (about 1/2 tsp.) and serve it with a bit of rice.
The garlic and black pepper give it such a rich spicy taste… it rocked my world.

Comment by jonben

That sounds really good! I love lentils.

Comment by Jessica

It gets thicker if you don’t finish it all fresh and store it in the fridge for a day. then I found it’s really really good with veggie hotdogs sliced and mixed in… 😀

Comment by Reut

Thanks for your comment, Daphne. I do remember writing that post–even 2 1/2 years later! This lentil soup looks fantastic. I’ll have to try it.

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

